Central Bank of Afghanistan

Central Bank of Afganistan

Table of Contents

Central Bank of Afganistan

Central Bank of Afganistan is Da Afganistan Bank (DAB).It was founded on 1939.Da Afganistan Bank headquarters in Kabul. Da Afganistan has 46 branches which are working all over the country. Five branches situated in Kabul. 100% ownership is state ownership. Name of the governor is Mr. Ajmal Ahmady.It’s vital role to regulate all banking and money handling operations in Afghanistan. In Afganistan total 12 banks are operating consisting of 3 state own bank and 7 private banks and 2 branches of foreign banks. All of them Azizi bank is fast growing number Afgans overcome their initial reductants to conduct their financial affairs through banks.

Generally, working week is Sunday through Thursday. Business hours are typically 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM, while shops usually stay open until 11 PM. In most cities, stores are open seven days a week.

The official currency of Afghanistan is the Afghan Afghani and is abbreviated as AFN.

DAB is active in developing policies to promote financial inclusion and a member of the Alliance for Financial Inclusion. In May 2020, the bank launched a campaign to promote the use of Afghan currency instead of Iranian rials in the western provinces.

Keyword Cluster Keyword Search Intent Title Meta Description
Overview Central Bank of Afghanistan Informational What is the Central Bank of Afghanistan? Learn about the Central Bank of Afghanistan, its history, functions, and role in the country’s economy in this informative article.
History Afghanistan Banking System Informational History of Banking in Afghanistan Trace the evolution of the Afghan banking system, including the establishment and development of the Central Bank of Afghanistan.
Governance Central Bank of Afghanistan Act Informational Understanding the Central Bank of Afghanistan Act Discover the key features and provisions of the Central Bank of Afghanistan Act and how they shape the bank’s governance and operations.
Currency Afghani Informational What is the Afghani Currency? Get an overview of Afghanistan’s official currency, the Afghani, including its history, denominations, and exchange rate.
Monetary Policy Open Market Operations Informational What are Open Market Operations? Learn about the Central Bank of Afghanistan’s key tool for implementing monetary policy, including its goals, methods, and effects.
Supervision Banking Supervision Commercial How to Start a Bank in Afghanistan A comprehensive guide for entrepreneurs who want to start a bank in Afghanistan, including regulatory requirements and procedures.
Financial Stability Financial Stability Commercial Investing in Afghanistan: Risks and Opportunities Explore the risks and opportunities of investing in Afghanistan’s economy, with a focus on the role of the Central Bank in ensuring stability.
Payments Mobile Money Transactional How to Use Mobile Money in Afghanistan A practical guide for consumers who want to use mobile money services in Afghanistan, including how to register, send, and receive payments.
International Correspondent Banking Transactional Correspondent Banking in Afghanistan Discover how correspondent banking works in Afghanistan, including its benefits, risks, and challenges for local and international banks.
Research Central Bank Reports Informational Central Bank of Afghanistan Reports Access the latest reports and publications from the Central Bank of Afghanistan, covering topics such as monetary policy, financial stability, and economic development.


The vision of Da Afghanistan Bank is that of a monetary institution which upholds international best practice in fostering price stability and a sound financial system conducive to macro-economic stability, favourable investment climate, private sector development and broad-based economic growth.


The mission of Da Afghanistan Bank is to foster price stability and build a robust financial system.


The primary objective of Da Afghanistan Bank is to achieve and maintain domestic price stability. Other objectives of Da Afghanistan Bank which are subordinated to the primary objective are: to foster the liquidity, solvency and effective functioning of a stable market based financial system, and to promote a safe, sound and efficient national payments system. Considering its main objective, Da Afghanistan Bank supports general economic policies of government and strengthens sustainable economic growth.


Da Afghanistan Bank

Address       : Ibni-Sina Watt. Kabul, Afghanistan

Phone          : +93 (20) 2104146

Fax               : 0093 (20)2100305

Email           : info@dab.gov.af

Open from  : SAT – Thursday (8:00 AM – 4:00 PM)

All governors of Da Afghanistan Bank

Habibullah Malie Achekzai, 1954-1960

Abdul Hay Azizi, 1960-1975

Mohammad Hakim Khan, 1975-1980

Ghulam Hussain Jujeni, 1980-1982

Mehrabuddin Paktiawal, 1982-1985

Abdul Basir Ranjbar, 1985-1988

Mohammad Kabir, 1988-1990

Khalil Sediq, 1990-1991

Abdul Wahab Asefi, ?-1991

Najibullah Sahu, ?-1992

Zabihullah Eltezam, ?-1993

Ghulam Mohammed Yailaqi, 1993

Mohammad Hakim Khan, 1993-1995

Ehsanullah Ehsan, during Taliban era, 1996-1997

Abdul Samad Sani, during Taliban era, 1997-?

Anwar ul-Haq Ahady, 2002-2004

Noorullah Delwari, 2004-2007

Abdul Qadir Fitrat, 2007-2011

Noorullah Delwari, 2011-2014

Khan Afzal Hadawal, acting, 2014-2015

Khalil Sediq, 2015-2019

Wahidullah Nosher, acting, 2019-2019

Ajmal Ahmady, acting, 2019-present